Thursday, August 17, 2006

The Summer of Soul [Pt. 12] on 8/17/06 w/ CdV

Intro: "Soulful Strut" - Young Holt Unlimited

Gil Scott-Heron - "Johannesburg"
James Carr - "Dark End of the Street"
Chairmen of the Board - "Pay to the Piper"
Marvin Gaye - "Right On"
Willie Rodgers - "That's When I'll Stop Loving You"
Edwin Starr - "Way Over There"
Parliament - "Oh Lord, Why Lord/Prayer"
Sam Cooke - "Good Times"
James Brown - "The Payback"
Chuck Jackson - "Any Day Now"
Barbara Acklin - "Am I the Same Girl"
Otis Redding & the Pinetoppers - "Shout Bamalama"
R.B. Greaves - "Whiter Shade of Pale"
Solomon Burke - "If You Need Me"
Ernie Johnson - "You're Gonna Miss Me"
Bobby 'Blue' Bland - "Who Will the Next Fool Be"
William Devaughn - "Be Thankful for What You Got"
Freddie Scott - "Are You Lonely for Me, Baby?"
The Fatback Band (w/ Johnny King) - "Peace, Love Not War"
O.V. Wright - "Without You"
The Vibrettes - "Humpty Bump"
Eddy 'G' Giles - "Soul Feeling"
Phillip Mitchell - "Turning Over the Ground"
Eddie Kendricks - "Ain't No Smoke Without Fire"
Curtis Mayfield - "(Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below, We're All Gonna Go"
Sam Cooke - "Summertime"


Billy Bragg, Wilco, & Woody Guthrie - "California Stars"

See y'all in September...and thanks for listening to the Summer of Soul!



Post a Comment

<< Home